The one with force fields

Rocketing up the charts of questions I get asked at work is “Don’t you get bored?” I can honestly answer that with no. I often cherish the slower times because it gives me a chance to think about my writing. When not having to direct people to the restroom or make sure they’re not touching art I can even jot notes and lines down.

Sometimes there are the times when thinking about writing doesn’t help. It is after all (sometimes) 8 hours of walking around the same 2 or 3 rooms, looking at the same paintings and statues. One way I combat boredom is I give out awards. Such as: Craziest hair, worst smelling, dumbest question, what were you thinking wearing that, and the Are you serious Bro? So patron’s can lead to entertainment—generally only if I help it along.

It really is the little things/games that help make the days (and nights) move quickly by. Increasingly though these games has lead to strange looks from my wife. They certainly may be becoming stranger. Just yesterday a coworker saw me doing one of them and during the explanation I felt sort of whacko.

It started with a funny image in my mind that the galleries I wasn’t guarding had force fields on their entrances. This meant that when I came to the end of my gallery I was not allowed to pass into the next. Next up it was all galleries (including mine) had this on the entrance. The only way I could enter the gallery was by placing my finger on the panel to be scanned. I would do this every now and again. I soon found that I was doing this every time I entered or exited a gallery, not only that but using the same hand. I was using my right thumb each time. This is made a little bit weirder by the fact I usually carry my radio in my right hand. As I neared an entrance I would switch the radio to my left hand and scan my right thumb.

Yesterday as I returned from break I scanned my thumb finger. The guard covering my break saw me and asked about it.

Him: You find something on there?
Me: Oh…saw that did you?
Him: Something on there? (He starts to check the wall.)
Me: Oh..uhm no…well…see I…in order to get into the gallery I have to uhm scan my thumb…?
Him: Oh. Okay…right…
Me: You know to open up the force field between the two…?
Him: Sure—

My Wife: You actually told him the truth?
Me: Uhm yes?
Wife: Did he look at you like you were nuts?
Me: Sort of.
My Wife: Well you are.
Me: Thanks.

Yet another glimpse into the mind of Jimi you didn’t need.

Maybe I’ll try this one day:

Photobucket

2 Responses to The one with force fields

  1. I used to play the same sort of mind games when I worked at another local museum. Whatever makes the day go by faster – especially when it means playing with co workers minds 🙂

  2. […] been well documented (well=1 post about it) my battle with boredom at work. I still do the force field thing. Scanning my thumb print before entering a gallery is ingrained in my work mind at this point. I use […]

Leave a Reply

