It’s summer bitches!

This weekend was filled with plenty of events. Unlike the last one these events were spread out over the weekend and not in one night.

I still can’t quite grasp the fact that we went to a play, a concert and a midnight movie in the same evening. We did though. It was a fun night. This isn’t about that night though. This is about this weekend.

So as we were partaking in the weekend’s activities Lindsay (Pelvic Joann) said something right as I was thinking it. She mentioned how it was the official start of summer. And then while reading the humongo list of blogs on my Google reader I came across this post on Cleveland’s a Plum. Where the lovely alexa said she felt the weekend was the official kick off to summer. Now we all know the actual date. Actually I don’t and to be honest while talking about it in the car we really only guessed the date. Of course the guess turned out to be right. Bravo to my lovely wife.

Anysummer it was an interesting occurrence of mass consciousness or maybe just a nice hot day where it didn’t rain and we did summer things.

Whatever.

Our weekend was nice. Friday was slow night at home by myself. I watched old school wwf videos and worked on my script. The wifey was at her mom’s house doing laundry and etc. When she got home we watched The Woods. It was pretty bad but it did have potential. Bruce Campbell is in it and that is always good. A more detailed will be up at B Movie Brigade soon.

Saturday morning the wife and I headed over to Dike 14 to help them with their open house. It is a neat little trail and very pretty. If you’re in the Cleveland area you need to try and make it out there to see it. We were there for about 3 hours watching the Butterfly info table. This of course meant people would ask us questions about butterflies. We really didn’t have the answers (ourselves) but many could be found in the info on the table. The wifey vetoed me just making stuff up and telling em whatever I found to be funny
There was much laughing about being on or in the dike all day. At least the wife and I were laughing about it all day because we are way mature. Don’t judge.

Photobucket

We got rained on a bit but you know that’s okay. From there we picked u Pelvic Joann and Daniel (in from C-Bus and originator of the Pelvic Joann moniker) and headed over to the east side melt. The wait to be seated was not very long however it did take forever and a day to get our food.

I’m not going to get into that. It was a long wait (probably too long) but it is done and over with. It won’t help a damn (what?) complaining about it now. I will focus on the fact that I finally had the Dortmunder mac and cheese soup and it was freaking fracking delicious! Then I got me the Godfather sandwich.

Homemade 3 Cheese Lasagna:
Creamy ricotta, smoky provolone and rich romano
Fresh made fennel & oregano sheets from Ohio City Pasta layered with spicy red tomato sauce and served bubbly hot on garlic spiked grilled bread with more gooey provolone.
It was amazing!

From there we went home and chilled for a bit. The wife proved her total awesomeness because watched the marathon of Star Wars that Spike TV was doing. I found it during The Empire Strikes Back but she fell asleep before I put it on. Then I fell asleep during Return of the Jedi (Hey I was going on like 3 hours sleep!) I woke up and we watched the end of it and then Pelvic Joann called and invited us to hang at her place. We headed over and chilled. Soon it was decided that adventure was a must or at least going to Walgreen’s to get some snack was.

Unfortunately for me I left my wallet at home so it was a pointless venture for me. The 5 of us walked into Walgreen’s a little bit before 11 o’clock. Almost all of us had messenger bags with us. We walked in like any normal customer would and were 10 steps past the security guard (who I said “hello, how are you?” to) when he called to us and told us we had to leave our bags up front in a pile. We (not being 12) were quite skeptical. He wanted us to pile our bags on one of the counters of an unused register. What the hell? Just leave em there for anyone to go through or take? The wife really took exception to him because he did talk to us like we were children. Since she wasn’t buying anything she stood by them and I’m pretty sure shot him the evil eye over and over. We went off on a drive after that and then the missus and I went home.

What happened when we got home? You got it we watched the Star Wars marathon again.
Sunday was a real treat. We headed over to Vine and Bean for brunch around noon. It was delish but the true highlight was drinking the bottomless mimosas. Those were heavenly and freaking bottomless. I’m pretty sure we each had about 10 glasses as we sat there laughing and joking for a long time.
Someone who worked there came with the carafe of mimosas and told us he was sent over. He introduced himself and we introduced ourselves. I of course said my name was Jacob but the wifey (meanly) told him I was lying. Bad form Peter.

Yeah Hook reference!

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

From there we hit up the Hessler street fair. It was packed and hot. We walked around and enjoyed the festivities. From there we made our way to Dairy King for some ice cream dipped in cherry goodness. I didn’t actually have any this time but it was good to be going there for the first time this season. This is why truly felt like the beginning of summer to us.

Our firsts for a few things:
Street fair
mimosas outside
and Dairy King.

Its summer bitches!

One Response to It’s summer bitches!

  1. ladylinzi says:

    My arms are hot in that picture.

    Ahhh the start of summer. ‘Bout time!

Leave a Reply

