Q: Are we not Men? A: We are Post it Notes

You know the drill. Click down there to visit all the other Post it Notes

And here to make your own.

So the other day I was all up on gchat with Carissa (I know you read her but if not why the hell not? Click here then.) And was reminded how I never did a post or posted any pics of the Devo costume. You know from the 80’s party? With that in mind I decided to do something a little weird. I know you’re all totally shocked. I’m going to do a sort of pop up post it notes. I stole that from the wifey.

Anydevo enjoy.

First intro info: Formed in Akron, OH, in 1972 by Kent State art students Jerry Casale and Mark Mothersbaugh, Devo took its name from their concept of “de-evolution” — the idea that instead of evolving, mankind has actually regressed, as evidenced by the dysfunction and herd mentality of American society. They briefly broke through to the mainstream with the smash single “Whip It,” whose accompanying video was made a staple by the fledgling MTV network.

And now a bit on how they were made:
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket
Photobucket

Photobucket

They thought of themselves as a band of nerds and often referred to themselves as spuds.

Photobucket

Photobucket

A song called “I Desire” appears on Devo’s fifth album, Oh, No! It’s Devo, which features lyrics by and based upon John Hinckley’s songs to Jodie Foster.

Photobucket

Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo! was seen as a call to arms by some and became an underground hit. Others found Devo’s sound, imagery, and material threatening.

Photobucket

Photobucket

In 1990 its members began to concentrate on other projects. Mark Mothersbaugh moved into composing for commercials and soundtracks, writing theme music for MTV’s Liquid Television, Nickelodeon’s Rugrats, Pee-Wee’s Playhouse, and the Jonathan Winters sitcom Davis Rules. He also played keyboards with the Rolling Stones, programmed synthesizers for Sheena Easton, and sang backup with Debbie Harry.

There you have it some funny tidbits about the band and some pictures on my Devo Costume. It was made of course by my lovely wife. One day I may post about the party but not likely. Click here for a DIY Devo costume.

7 Responses to Q: Are we not Men? A: We are Post it Notes

  1. Lori says:

    I love Devo. I thought they were quirky and weird and cool all at the same time!

  2. LOL… nice post its today. Love the hat=) just missing a whip if I recall correctly.

  3. carissa says:

    Love love love the costume!~ And the pics. I may have to steal this idea for a costume party in the near future. Also. Ok So Devo’s music. What’s your opinion?

  4. Lucy says:

    Oh, my gosh, Devo, now that is going back in time, boy do I remember them, loved the pictures!

  5. Robin Haws says:

    Best costume award!

  6. Devo Rocks, but that hat rules!

  7. spleeness says:

    haha, I love that hat!!

Leave a Reply

