Look Ma no Job, but at least I still got hands!

Today can be cliché. Well more so this Sunday at the god awful hour of 7am can be cliché. Why? On that day at 3 pm I get the chance to look at it as the first day of the rest of my life. I know what you are thinking everyday is the first day of the rest of your life Jimi! True, but it isn’t the end of time spent working hard for Zagara’s Marketplace is it? No Sunday is.

Ha! Take that!
Sorry.

I plan to take this opportunity to look to the future. A new beginning. Sure this blog will still be filled with the same jive as before (except minus some entertaining characters) but I will be different. Mostly it’ll be the sitting at home but you know whatever. I plan to use this opportunity to write, write my ass off (which it could use a lot written off) even.

I’m a bit nervous sure, but I’m also excited. I’ve agreed to co-direct (with the wifey) my friend’s play. That is a new one for me. I’m a little freaked out about it but also very excited. He is talented and we share the same inspirations and humor. I may not have a job just yet but this will lead to 3 initial good things.

1. More focus on writing.
2. More reading.
3. Watching March Madness.

I have to figure out a daily minimum in terms of writing time and a weekly minimum in terms of page output. Also find lots of people to chat it up with on aim,facebook and gchat because I need lots of talking when writing. Anyone interested?

Bueller? Didn’t think so.

Anyferris I embark on this I draw on two people and two quotes.

“They have worries, they’re counting the miles, they’re thinking about where to sleep tonight, how much money for gas, the weather, how they’ll get there – and all the time they’ll get there anyway, you see.” — Jack Kerouac (On the Road: The Original Scroll)

“My fellow Americans. As a young boy, I dreamed of being a baseball. But tonight I say, we must move forward, not backward, upward not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!” –Kang.
That is some deep stuff even if you voted for Kodos.

I’m not explaining that one, but I sure hope someone gets it.

10 Responses to Look Ma no Job, but at least I still got hands!

  1. Dani says:

    At least in the absence of gainful employment you will be putting your time towards your passions. That will make all the difference (she says from learning the hard way).

    And seriously, who would not get that choice Simpsons reference?

  2. andhari says:

    Co-direct a play? That sounds like a big deal, you must be a very creative person 🙂

  3. […] Look Ma no Job, but at least I still got hands! – Life changes are always best accompanied by Kang quotes.  Excellent usage.  […]

  4. Bridget says:

    as my friend says, a lot, if she doesn’t come out of this recession with a novel, she’s a failure.

  5. good luck buddy!! you’ll do awesome.

  6. carissa says:

    First of all, I am really excited that you will be writing a lot more. Second WHOOOHOOOO Congrats on the play gig. I think its great you are taking this unemployment free-time and running with it. You can really do some awesome things now!

Leave a Reply

