A wall fell down but did you feel it?

A shorty post cause jimi is dying here. 20 years ago the Berlin Wall fell. I was eleven at the time and not gonna lie a tad confused by it. I sat on the floor and watched the hub bub and felt for the people who poured out raw emotion. I’m not sure I knew why.* Now it all took place because Ronald Reagan did this**:

That was some powerful video huh? I was gonna show something from the Hoff but a clip of Knight Rider wouldn’t really be appropriate would it? Here is a link to a few funny clips of it. I especially enjoy when he says “fuck you Kit!”

The wall came down 20 years ago today and it should cause some reflection and deserves celebration. There are many instances of walls being put up still today real or firewall (like what is taking place in China.)

Now 10 years ago a man named Jerry Tuite debuted as The Wall. He was “German” and was the body guard of the character Berlyn. So in all seriousness he was Beryln’s Wall. Get it?? AWESOME SAUCE if I ever saw it. Now he was big. Real big:

the wall

He was involved in some storylines and then as WCW faded so did he. He passed on in 2003 but there was this awesome moment that he brought us:

Anyhooo in all seriousness today is a special day. Reflect on your freedom and their moment 20 years ago. I watched this video thanks to Chef’s Widow and they are beautiful and emotional. This is what I’m doing***:

Photobucket

The German Embassy is coordinating a public diplomacy campaign with the motto “Freedom Without Walls.” The campaign is focused on promoting awareness of the fall of the Berlin Wall among current college students, and students at over 20 universities will participate in “Freedom Without Walls” events in late 2009. Enjoy your day and week.

*And for some reason I typed ruse (instead of sure) like three times. Dyslexic much?
**What we don’t all get our history from Family Guy?
*** Kinda lame I know but I like to show support even in little ways (this is a no no at work I’m sure)

Leave a Reply

