Fun Friday

So I had planned on a completely different post for today but I forgot to take a picture that is important to the shenanigans. It involves bending over, grocery stores, an old lady and an enema package. I know now you’re clamoring for it but don’t worry tomorrow you’ll get it. In the meantime I shall start what will perhaps become a weekly thing. Who knows what my crazy flash in the pan whims will do though. Anyway get out the midgets, wine bottles and give me a drum roll for:

Fun Friday

Wow that really comes off kind of lame. Is this thing on? I wonder if I’ll even post this. I shall list something fun you should consider doing. Sometimes the suggestions will be off the wall, and other times they may be simple. Hey sometimes it is the simple things we over look that do the most good for us. So sit back (or lean forward if you have bad eye sight) and give it a try. Any suggestions of your own I’d love to here!

Today’s Fun Friday has two things. One is for my fellow Clevelanders. This Saturday night you need to get your butt over to Parnell’s pub on Lee and have a Strongbow or a Pint of Guinness. After some good drinks with good people head on over to the Cedar Lee Theatre for their cult movie series. What are they showing you ask? Well that’s awful impatient of you. The movie is none other than The Lost Boys. The 1987 film by Joel Schumacher stars the two Coreys (Fieldman and Haim.) The two are pitted against a gang of vampires lead by Kiefer Sutherland in the role that pretty much made him famous. Yeah before Kiefer was killing terrorists, humping x mas trees and head butting designers he was hanging upside down from the ceiling of a derelict, underground hotel. The film relies on character, setting, and tone rather than on elaborate special effects to create its spooky atmosphere. Its thrills are more of the old-fashioned human variety than computer generated. I will post a full review of my thoughts after finally seeing it on the big screen again next week. Show times are at 9:30 and 12:00am and here is their website Cedar Lee Theatre If you get there early you can get some fake vampire teeth. Now doesn’t that sound like something you can sink your teeth into? I know that was bad but don’t throw any vegetables, unless its garlic (hey what can I say I like to stick with themes!)

The next thing is a little more relaxed. Invite a few friends over for some cocktails and snacky snacks. I know what you’re thinking but no I can’t come over. Oh that’s not what you were thinking? Ok…awkward….What is a snacky snack? I don’t know but I could go for one now! This week’s cocktail: White Sangria. Here is a nifty recipe tweaked by my wife.

White Sangria

• 2 bottle of white wine (Riesling, Albarino, Chablis, Gewurztraminer, Rioja, Pinot Gris, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc choose your favorite…I would not suggest that you mix two together.)
• 1 cup Peach Schnapps
• 1 cup Frozen peaches
• 1 cup Frozen strawberries
• 1 cup Frozen raspberries
• 1 Kiwi sliced
• Optional ½ liter ginger ale
• Optional ¼ – ½ cup of sugar depending on your taste

1. Pour wine and Schnapps into a large pitcher.
2. Add frozen peaches, strawberries and raspberries to the pitcher.
3. Peel Kiwi and slice them and add the kiwi to the pitcher
4. Depending on how sweet you want your Sangria, add ¼- ½ cup of sugar. If you prefer it a bit dryer then leave out the sugar.
5. Chill Sangria for an hour
6. Add ginger ale before serving
7. Enjoy

I will post pictures of my fun Friday activities later in the wee

Leave a Reply

