Anatomy of a Rib

By nature I’m not the most social (or wasn’t until just recently). I was never for going to parties or big hang outs in high school or after. When I did the chances were more than likely I’d sit in the corner brooding writing only paying attention to a select few. This often led to more than a few people thinking I was mean or angry all the time. Well times have changed probably quite a bit (and probably for the better) and I’m much more open to talking to/meeting new people. I talk to more people than ever, can have fun and actually be entertaining at parties. I often still end up alone writing but that’s part of my charm.

I’m an odd person to friend. It takes effort on your part because I don’t open up easily or obviously.
Hell my best friend likes to tell people how she had to make me be her friend. It’s true too but once the ball got rolling it was a quick one.

I can and will get close but sometimes it doesn’t appear that way at first. I’m a joker. It probably has a lot to do with the fact that when I was younger I did not have much confidence (in anything but my writing). I’m funny—I like to be funny. Problems can arise because of the fact that about 70 percent of people probably don’t get my humor. I like to poke fun at everyone (including and especially myself) so the closer we become the more you’re going to get ribbed. I’m not out to hurt you and the jokes are never anything mean, only the light hearted kind. You know like making fun of the fact that you totally have a crush on a goofy looking actor on a bad sci fi show.

Ten sucks Linzi!

Okay back to the point. As a group of us hung out something was pointed out and it caught my interest.
We sit around (a lot) and talk about random commercials, movies, tv shows, or just plain made up things (a whole lot!) Now quite a bit of this are funny jabs at one another. The interesting aspect (pointed out by my wife) is the flow the jabs can take. There is an up and down left to right but completely random aspect to them. At one point it’ll be three of us piling on the last one when bam A will turn on b and c and d (previously the jokee) will join in. There is no rhyme or reason. No formula to it, and it can turn on a dime. An example:

*Though based on real life events the proceeding conversation is fictional. The names have been changed to protect the innocent, except for Linzi because Doctor Who is lame. Ha!

Linzi: Oh yeah and Murder she wrote was such a great show.
Mary Jane Watson: It was. Jessica Fletcher will live on.
Curt Connors: Wait Hannibal Lecter?
Mary Jane Watson: Jessica Fletcher!
Curt Connors: I thought only old people watched that show.
Peter Parker: Old people and stupid people.
Mary Jane Watson: It’s a good show!
Linzi: Well it couldn’t be as bad as your chin strap!
Mary Jane Watson: Yeah is that hair on your face or Velcro.
Peter Parker: Take that strappy!
Curt Connors: Leave my beard alone!

And the cycle continues…. This is what allows the four of us to sit in the back booth of a restaurant for almost an hour after finishing up and getting the check and then outside the restaurant for just as much time.

Leave a Reply

